top of page

SHOP WITH “LOGIC”

Hi everyone and welcome to my Shop with “Logic” page.

This may seem another of those “how to buy” guides but it is not.

I’m not guiding you or telling you which product to choose. My intent is to give you my advice based on personal experience.

I myself came across with tons of guides on how to buy a product and every time I was reading one, I was just getting more confused than I initially was.

“Don’t choose this” … “Pay attention to that” they say. I just have the feeling I’m gonna buy some piece of @@@@ .

When buying stuffs became so complicated?

Last time, I spent hours in a shop checking all monitor models and their specs and at the end I went out of the shop with nothing just because the guide I tried to follow was misguiding me. Maybe it’s just my problem.

Anywho, I got pissed so I decided to come up with my own “how I will buy a product” idea.

I removed all the listing points of those guides and narrowed down the only 2 really important (imho) :

  • Money;

  • Need.

These 2 points walk together all the way down till the actual purchase of the product.

The first point “money”, it’s really easy to explain. You pick an amount of money you are willing to spend on a product or you don’t set any limit, leaving yourself free choice from the cost point of view.

The second point is, in my opinion, the main one. Before purchasing an item I always ask myself “What do I really need?” , “Which should be the main function or the main purpose of the product I’ll buy?”

Nowadays with all the products on the market and all those goods with tons of features, everything tends to sidetrack you during your choice.

That’s why I put “Need” in second place. If I set a budget (money, 1st point) I need to pay more attention on what my need is and what I want from the product. No limit on money, more space on the choice but still focusing on the need. Not always all the features of a product are worth the price or the quality.

Easy example is with smartphones. We tend to focus on how many features it has and how many things it is capable of that we forget the main purpose of it. We may end up with a phone able to make you coffee or read you a book before going to sleep but when it comes to use the connectivity cuz you are lost and need to check a map … “no reception” .

That’s why focusing on the real need it’s important for me.

If I love pictures and I want to purchase a camera, I focus on the pictures quality. I love to take pictures during the night, I’ll focus on the quality of the pictures in low-light.

I’m not going to choose a camera that floats in the air but makes “nice” pictures over a camera that makes “awesome” pictures but falls if I let it.

Do you get the point?

So, that’s what I do when I need/want to buy something.

Of course, I still make researches on the product and I try to get as many info as possible before purchasing it, especially if I have a budget in mind.

I make comparisons between products, I check reviews and I ask questions till I reach my decision of the best product for me. Not the best product on the market, the best product for ME.

At the end of the day, I want to be satisfied with my purchase.

Here we are, at the end of this page.

I could have gone deeper into this topic and give you more advice and examples but as Dr. Sheldon Cooper once told Dr. Amy Farrah Fowler “Choosing a new laptop is an incredibly personal ritual. You have taken away weeks of agonizing thought, tedious research, sleepless nights filled with indecision.”

The Big Bang Theory fans got what I meant.

Hoping this helped you somehow, I wish you all smooth choices and happy purchases.

 Recent   
 Posts  
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:0000:00
bottom of page