top of page

When the obvious becomes stupid!

Today on the way to work, a stranger stopped me to ask for the time.

I was rushing to the office so I quickly answered and went back to hit the road.

I don’t know why but that stranger’s words were still sounding in my head:

Do you know the time?

Of course I know the time and, for the record, I’m late

That answer popped into my head but it wasn’t the one I gave him.

“That would have been funny” I told myself.

I then realized that we ask this kind of questions quite often, those obvious ones that get answered right away.

They are really so obvious that they sound stupid, if you think about it.

We just don’t pay attention to them when we are asked.

I started to wonder how someone, who had a bad day, might answer to those questions.

Following are few ideas I had:

You decided to change your haircut style from "Slash" to "Charles Xavier".

One of your closest friend immediately notices the change and asks you: "Did you cut your hair?" "No! I stopped combing and they all went on strike in protest"

You've just banged your knee against the wall.

In pain, you start hopping while holding your knee with both hands and making sounds and facial expressions showing you are in pain.

Someone, who perfectly read all the signs, approaches you asking: "Are you hurt?" "No! This is the new dance called "You idiot, isn't that obvious?""

Outside a gray sky. Roars of thunders and noise of water tapping on the windows are hearable.

You arrive in the office totally soaked in water and your colleague asks you: "Is it raining?" "No! I was caught in the middle of a huge water balloons fight with random people ...I won though!"

It's afternoon. You are in the office sitting at your desk when suddenly you feel burning pain in your stomach and you run to the toilet to puke.

A colleague, after hearing those gurgling noises, looks at your face and eyes still visibly red and asks you: "Are you sick?" "No. I forgot what I had for lunch and I wanted to check"

It's a sunny day and you decide to go to work by bike.

A hole on your way and suddenly you are thrown off the bike, straight onto the floor.

Someone, who saw the entire tumble, rushes to help you and asks immediately: "Did you fall?" "No! I had an irresistible need of hugging the street"

There are plenty of other examples but I had just the above ones in first place. Feel free to add some more in the comments below.

Cheers

 Recent   
 Posts  
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:0000:00
bottom of page