top of page

Philips Smart TV 5500 powered by Android

In a period where Smart TVs are becoming more and more common, I decided to have my first approach with this technology.

Since part of my monthly cafeteria at work consists of vouchers I can use in some tech shops, in 2015 I collected a bunch of them and during Christmas period, I approached one of these shops highly intended to purchase a new TV.

After a tour of all the models available at the store, I came across one in particular.

A 32 inches Smart TV powered by Android.

Price affordable, size perfect for the spot I reserved for it at home, FullHD and manufactured by a known brand.

Not bad, but I wanted to check more.

I took my phone out of the pocket and googled the model to check the specs. Not being an expert in TVs, I thought to check for info and advice.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any reviews at that moment but the specs were available and easily founded so I took a look at them:

  • Display: LED Full HD

  • Diagonal screen size: 32 inch / 80 cm

  • Panel resolution: 1920x1080p

  • OS: Android™ 5.0 (Lollipop)

  • Memory size: 8GB, extendable via USB storage

  • Number of HDMI connections: 4

  • Number of component in (YPbPr): 1

  • Number of scarts (RGB/CVBS): 1

  • Number of USBs: 3

  • Wireless connections: Dual Band, Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi 11n 2x2 integrated

  • Other connections: Antenna IEC75, Common Interface Plus (CI+), Ethernet-LAN RJ-45, Digital audio out (optical), Audio L/R in, Audio in (DVI), Headphone out, Service connector, Satellite Connector

  • HDMI features: Audio Return Channel

  • EasyLink (HDMI-CEC): Remote control passthrough, System audio control, System standby, One touch play

(Took just few of them. For a complete view, please click here to check the user manual)

“Wow! Full HD, Smart TV with Android as OS, Wi-Fi connection…that would help me to avoid a cable running through the walls”

It looked perfect. This is Exactly what I was hoping for.

Paid it and took it home.

Unboxed it, put it on the table in the bedroom, connected the power cord to the plug and started.

Welcome message, setting up the wireless connection and then Boom…straight to the Android UI.

It looked cool. I was stunned and happy.

Moved by curiosity, I started to launch some app and download some game. I tested the wireless mouse and keyboard and I even tried a game with the Xbox 360 wired controller.

Astonishing. I was able to play a racing game with a controller on the TV without a console. Technology is really flying nowadays.

Unfortunately, that amazing feeling and that happiness started to decrease immediately from the day after.

The very next day, turned the TV on and it was disconnected from the network.

I tried to connect it again but 3 failed attempts busted me.

“is it defective? Did I buy a broken one?”

I started to look on internet. It’s a common issue and they suggest to upgrade the firmware as soon as it is connected.

Finally, connection was back. Updated firmware but the issue wasn’t solved.

Other suggestion: “Turn it off, unplug it from the socket for 5 minutes and start again” .

Tried and it worked. The whole day it worked smoothly.

“Good…I thought it was going to be always like this”.

Those were my last hopeful words about that TV.

Cutting to the chase, the Smart TV Philips 5500 (32pfh5500/88) sucks.

It doesn’t keep the Wi-Fi connection active even when it goes on standby. I had to restart the TV removing the plug at least a couple of times per day. The firmware update didn’t help solving anything.

As basic TV, it works properly but living in a country where the TV channels are in an incomprehensible language for me, my biggest hope relies on internet and external drives.

The USB ports are all working and they recognize any kind of drive connected but sometimes the TV reboots on its own when switching from an a source to another or from an app to another.

The sound coming out from the speakers are enough for a small room. Once the TV got moved to the living room, I had to upgrade the sound using a soundbar.

Since the Wi-Fi connection didn’t work as intended, I was “forced” to move the TV to the living room so that I could connect it to the network using an Ethernet cable.

So now, with direct connection by cable, the results improved a bit and after installing some additional app we (my girlfriend and I) could finally enjoy the TV a bit more but it still reboots from time to time.

Moreover, the soundbar, LG SH2, could be connected just using the optical audio cable because the Bluetooth of the TV doesn’t find any device while phone and soundbar paired immediately via Bluetooth without problems.

Sometimes, I even have to check the settings and do some troubleshooting as the TV doesn’t recognize the soundbar at all and, cherry on top, volume cannot be fully controlled by the TV remote which forces you to take always both remotes, TV's and soundsbar's.

Personal considerations:

The TV looks cool and once overcome the issues, it’s a nice TV that gives you the chance to use Android for tons of things.

It doesn’t mean that the TV is worth. I would rather add a lot more money and buy a better one than getting frustrated every time we want to watch a movie.

Bluetooth never used. I could connect my phone once but, the second time it failed and I’ve never tried anymore.

Wi-Fi connection works “occasionaly”. You cannot rely on it.

I faced also some difficult problem after resetting the TV to the factory setting that took me a while to solve. You can read about it here.

The only thing that gives this TV some positive point is just that it’s “Smart” after all, and once connected by Ethernet cable, you are actually able to enjoy it as a “Smart” TV but….is it worth it??!!

Final Verdict:

This TV makes you struggle and has a lot of issues that are not worth the money in my opinion

I give to the Android TV Philips 5500 (32pfh5500/88) 4 out of 10.

 Recent   
 Posts  
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:0000:00
bottom of page