top of page

Losing apps and hopes on your Android TV - Error: RH-01

Hi All, I've recently faced some issue with my 32pfh5500/88 smart TV. My google account was not recognized anymore and Google Play Store was obviously not opening. I've removed the Google account, restarted the TV few times (even by removing the plug for 5 minutes or so) and tried to set the account back. The account couldn't be connected anymore. Since the firmware of the TV got update, I thought the issue could have been caused by that. So I decided to reinstall the TV and start from the scratch. Once reinstallation finished, I was able to add the google account again from the "Android settings" of the TV, but when I tried to open Google Play Store an error message appeared:

"Error Retrieving Information from Server RH-01" I googled the issue and I tried to solve the problem following the steps that tons of forums suggest:


  • Stop Google Play Store app;

  • Clear its cache and its data and try again.


If still the same:

  • Stop Google Play services app;

  • Clear its cache and its data and try again.


If previous steps didn't help:

  • Stop Google Play framework app;

  • Clear its cache and its data and try again.


If issue is still not solved:

  • Disable the three above mentioned apps

  • Enable them back and try again.


If you are close to give up:

  • Delete internet cache and try again


Guess if it worked?

Of course not and, since I reinstalled the TV, all apps were gone and I couldn’t install them back due to the Google Play Store problem. I put aside the Google Play Store issue and I decided to find an alternative solution to install back the apps. I knew already that in order to be able to install apps from an external device I needed 2 things:


  • Allowance from the TV to install apps from unknown sources;​

  • A file manager app such as Es File Explorer, Astro, X-plore to navigate within storage and launch the .apk file I wanted.

Allowing the TV to install apps from unknown sources wasn’t that difficult.

I just navigated to the Android settings of the TV and from there I allowed the installation from unknown sources.

I know that best practice is to not do that but I couldn’t care less.

I needed just to use an external device to install apps, nothing else. Still one question was in my mind:

”How can I install the file management app if I can't install apps?” Since the TV was connected to internet, I opened the browser and I tried to install one.

Tried several links, even Google Play Store link but nothing worked.

Tried to bypass the middle steps directing the browser to the direct link of the .apk file but still no success.


Stubborn as a mule, I couldn't give up so I came up with another possible solution...cloud services.

I've downloaded a file manager app on my PC and stored it in different cloud services. Went back to the TV and gave it a try.

Not a single cloud service helped me to access the file.

“Let's try to open the .apk file as attachment from an email” I told myself. Sent myself an email with the app attached, tried to log into my email accounts (used more than one) but no way.


Having some IT experience, knowledge and certification, my pride started to get hurt so I tried to install from the browser using command lines.

Stored the app in different storage devices, as the TV internal storage couldn’t be accessed, and tried to launch the file.

I even made my PC an FTP server and tried to access it from the TV but it didn't work either.


Not seeing the end to the tunnel, I decided to go back on my steps and reinstall the TV from the scratch. Reinstalled the TV, restarted it, waited at least 10 minutes and then tried to login to the Google account directly from Google Play Store. The account was added successfully but an error message showed up right after:

"Error Retrieving Information from Server RH-01"

Freaking Server RH-01!!! I paid attention on all the details (date, time, time zone, etc.) but nothing.


I was exasperated and partially disappointed but I decided to go deeper.

I enabled the developing mode on the TV and checked the USB debugging.

Surprisingly, it was already enabled so I connected the TV to the PC using a USB cable and crossed my fingers. No luck...what a surprise!

USB debugging is not working as there are plenty of restrictions and, moreover, the TV is recognized by the PC as a media center and no drivers could be used. I tried with google USB drivers and with android USB drivers but none of them helped.


Close to give up and live with the idea that my smart TV and I aren’t that smart after all, I downloaded the Android SDK Manager for developers on my PC. Probably not the best moment to start developing apps for Android TVs but, as developers use SDK Manager software to create apps and test them on devices by ADB connection (Android Debugging Bridge), I told myself “You went so far…why not to try the difficult steps too?” Followed the instructions to connect the PC to the TV through an USB ADB connection but it failed as no correct drivers for the TV were installed on the PC. Sad but pissed, I put back the TV on its table, plugged back all the cables and while connecting the LAN cable I hit on an idea: “Could the ADB connection be established over TCP/IP?”

Googled it immediately and found some interesting article about that.


Retrieved the IP address of the TV and launched the command "adb connect 192.168.#.#" The connection was successfully established and, with almost tears in my eyes, I launched the command to install the File Manager app and VOILA!!!…it magically appeared on the TV.

Once the file manager was installed, I could finally connect the USB drive and launch the installation of all the other apps.

Finally both, the TV and me, went back to be smart again.

I know this post is very long and full of thrills but I felt like sharing this experience/half-nightmare anyway.

Not only cause I’m happy I solved the problem (happiness plays its role though) but also cuz it could give help and hope to other Smart TV users facing the same problem that this post "deserved" to be written. Here you can find the links I used to find out about the ADB connection: http://www.howtogeek.com/125769/how-...ridge-utility/ http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...android-studio There are lot of other posts about SDK Manager and ADB. Just surf the web and never stop at the first results page. Be patience and never give up!

 Recent   
 Posts  
Unknown Track - Unknown Artist
00:0000:00
bottom of page